Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

It’s been hard to get excited about cooking lately. I used to love to cook! Thick bubbling foods loaded with onions and garlic and…well…FODMAPs. But things are coming around. The more I do this whole fructose malabsorption thing, the easier it gets. And yesterday I needed to use my chicken and like a bolt of inspiration straight from heaven, satay hit my brain waves and I took off with it and ran!

Thankfully it was a good run and the meal was delicious! So delicious that it would be one I would serve to guests as a special meal! I was sorely low on groceries so I didn’t have any veggies to go with it but ideally I’d have served it with a salad or stir fried bok choy or perhaps an asian cucumber salad. (My mom has an amazing recipe for it and I will share it soon!)

Chicken Satay

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast

1 lemon squeezed

1.5 t Stevia (I used Truvia)

1/4 t dried red pepper flakes

1 1/4t ground coriander

1/2t ground mustard

pinch of saffron

1/2t black pepper

3/4 C coconut milk (used So Delicious unsweetened)

3T Gluten Free low sodium soy sauce

1. Slice and skewer the chicken strips, weaving the skewer through. Lay in a shallow baking dish.

2. Mix together the above ingredients well and pour over chicken. The lemon juice will curdle the coconut milk a little but don’t worry! Let the chicken marinate for at least 30 minutes in the fridge.

3. Grill on high a few minutes on each side until nicely browned. Meat will be very moist and tender!

Serve with steamed rice and peanut dipping sauce.

Peanut Dipping Sauce

1 1/2 C coconut milk (Same as above)

1/8 – 1/4 C of curry powder (to taste)

3/4 C unsweetened natural peanut butter (I used crunchy, so good!)

1/2 T salt

3/4 C dextrose

2 T white vinegar

1/2 C water

1. Pour everything into a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, stirring the entire time.

2. Turn heat to medium low and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. It should be thick by the time it’s done.

3. Remove from heat and let cool.

Dip your satay in or simply pour over a bowlful of chicken and rice! Very delicious and the dextrose ensures it’s not too sweet!

This entry was posted in Low FODMAP Meals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

